A Message from Dr. Verna Ruffin

By: Dr. Verna Ruffin on Dec 11, 2015

After months of many, many conversations, discussions and planning, our school board has thoughtfully and carefully made their decisions for Vision 2020. As stated last night by our school board members, we are all truly appreciative of the passion and commitment we have observed through this difficult time. It is the sincere hope and prayer of our board and staff that we continue to fuel this passion for our students and their education to work toward a Jackson-Madison County School System that we are all proud to call our own. Our work has just begun and we need each of you to help us make this transformation successful for all our students, staff and community. We will continue to keep you informed and encourage your continued commitment to supporting all schools.

Thank you for staying the course and helping our students, staff and community through this time of transition.  It is your continued support and focus that will get us through to a very positive and productive JMCSS.


Verna D. Ruffin, Ed. D.


Jackson-Madison County Schools

A Brief Summary of School Decisions


  • Lane (K-3)/JCT (4-8)
  • Pope (to be phased in over three years—K-6 in 2016-17; K-7 in 2017-18; K-8 in 2018-19)
  • Rose Hill—K-8
  • Montessori at Tigrett—K-8

Middle Schools

  • Bemis
  • Northeast and Academic Academy at Northeast
  • North Parkway

High Schools

Zoned High Schools:

  • South Side
  • North Side
  • Liberty

Non-Zoned High Schools:

  • Madison Academic
  • JCM Early College High School located at JCM Annex Building

Any short-term organizational changes will be implemented at the beginning of the 2016-2017 school year. This will put the Jackson-Madison County School System on the right path to ensuring academic excellence, financial sustainability and school safety and security.

For More Information…

To view the plans in better detail and for a closer look at zoning maps, please visit http://www.jmcss2020.com/about/board-approved-plans

Vision 2020 is an initiative of the Jackson-Madison County School System to further implement the School Board's strategic plan focused on academic excellence, financial sustainability, and school safety and security.

>> back