Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Awards Annual Scholarships to Students

By: Julie Daniels, Communications Coordinator on Jun 03, 2016

Judy Renshaw Leadership jackson Alumni Association Scholarship recipients surround Judy Renshaw. From left, Harrison Holt, Mason Cagle, Renshaw, Issac Hayes and Jennifer Briley. Katelyn Swaim is not picture.

 Leadership Jackson Alumni Association (LJAA) is proud to announce that five high school students in Jackson-Madison County have been awarded the annual alumni association scholarships. The Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship was awarded to Jennifer Briley, Trinity Christian Academy; Mason Cagle, Southside High School; Isaac Hayes, Home School; Harrison Holt, Madison Academic High School; and Katelyn Swaim, Jackson Christian School. The students were presented awards at Leadership Jackson Alumni Association’s Quarterly Luncheon on Friday, June 3 at Jackson Energy Authority’s Training Facility, 320 Highway 45 Bypass. Each received $1,000 toward their higher education expenses.

Briley and Cagle plan to attend Union University. Holt plans on attending Rhodes College. Hayes and Swaim will be attending The University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

The Leadership Jackson Alumni Association is honored to support local students with the Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship,” said Greg Parsons, president, Leadership Jackson Alumni Association. “Our mission with LJAA is to cultivate and inform the future leaders of our community to make Jackson and Madison County the best it can be. This Scholarship is an extension of that mission as we hope to assist those recipients with the funding of their post-secondary education.”

The scholarship, funded through dues to the association and gifts, amounts to at least $1,000 and as much as $2,000 payable to the college or university during the student’s freshman year. Other projects funded by Leadership Jackson Alumni dues include quarterly alumni luncheons, professional development programs and “Comfort Critters,” stuffed animals used by emergency first responders in Jackson.

The Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship was named in honor of Judy Renshaw in 2013 for her more than 35 years of developing the Leadership Jackson program. The Jackson Chamber is investing $500 per year through 2018 to help fund the scholarship. Individuals and/or donors wishing to make a tax-deductible donation in Renshaw’s honor to the scholarship can do so through the chamber’s foundation.

 “I am humbled and honored to have this scholarship bear my name but tremendously excited for the youth that will receive additional funding for their college education,” Renshaw said. “We have so many bright and talented youth eager to make a positive difference. Jackson will be in good hands with these future leaders as they accomplish their dreams.”          

For more information about the scholarship, contact Brandy Stutsman, manager of leadership development, at 731-423-2200 or [email protected] To learn more about Leadership Jackson or the Leadership Jackson Alumni Association, visit leadershipjackson.com.

>> back