LJ Alumni Association Awards Annual Scholarships to Students

June 1, 2020

Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship winners Bryce Cagle, Sally Howell and Meredith Nye.

The Leadership Jackson Alumni Association (LJAA) announces three high school students in Jackson-Madison County who have been awarded the annual alumni association scholarships. The Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship was awarded to Bryce Cagle, South Side High School; Sally Howell, Trinity Christian Academy; and Meredith Nye, Madison Academic Magnet High School. The students will be presented the awards at a later date. Each received $1,500 toward their higher education expenses.

Nye plans to attend Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville, while Cagle and Howell will continue their education at Union University.

“While Leadership Jackson was created with an overall mission of strengthening our community, one constant objective is not only to develop engaged leaders but also invest in the education of our future leaders,” said Cassandra Fuller, president, Leadership Jackson Alumni Association. “The Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship gives us the means to give back as it provides opportunities for high school graduates in our community to continue their educational and leadership development goals. On behalf of the LJAA Board, we congratulate these recipients and look forward to watching their educational and leadership journey unfold.”

The scholarship is funded through dues to the association and gifts. It amounts to at least $1,500 and as much as $2,000 payable to the college or university during the student’s freshman year. Other projects funded by Leadership Jackson Alumni dues include quarterly alumni luncheons, professional development programs professional development programs, and “Comfort Critters” - stuffed animals used by emergency first responders in Jackson.

The Judy Renshaw Leadership Jackson Alumni Association Scholarship was named in honor of Judy Renshaw in 2014 for the more than 35 years she worked developing the Leadership Jackson program. Individuals and/or donors wishing to make a tax-deductible donation in Renshaw’s honor to the scholarship can do so through the chamber’s foundation.

“I am humbled and honored to have this scholarship bear my name but tremendously excited for the youth that will receive additional funding for their college education,” Renshaw said. “We have so many bright and talented youth eager to make a positive difference. Jackson will be in good hands with these future leaders as they accomplish their dreams.”

For more information about the scholarship, email Brandy Stutsman, director of leadership development, or call 731-423-2200. To learn more about Leadership Jackson or the Leadership Jackson Alumni Association, visit leadershipjackson.com.