Ohio Valley Conference 2021 Baseball Championship Returns

April 6, 2021

The 2021 Ohio Valley Conference will return to The Ballpark at Jackson from May 27-29.  This year's championship will feature the top four teams in the OVC standings competing in a double elimination format with the winner receiving the OVC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.  The OVC Baseball Championship was previously held at The Ballpark at Jackson from 2010 through 2016.

“After a brief hiatus, the Ballpark is excited to welcome the Ohio Valley Conference Baseball Tournament back to Jackson,” said General Manager Marcus Sabata. “It gives West Tennessee the opportunity to see high-quality Division 1 baseball in their own backyard. The OVC has been a dream to work with and we thank them for bringing this event back to Jackson. We look forward to hosting a first class event.”


“We are excited to have the OVC Baseball Championship back at The Ballpark at Jackson,” said OVC Commissioner Beth DeBauche. “There is a level of comfort in going back to a place that has been so good to our league in the past.”


The first elimination style OVC Baseball Tournament was held in 1980, most usually being played at the site of the regular season champion. Beginning in 2001, the tournament switched to a neutral site for the first time, with nine championships (2001-09) being held at Brooks Stadium in Paducah, Kentucky, followed by seven years (2010-16) at The Ballpark at Jackson, two years (2017-18) at Choccolocco Park in Oxford, Alabama and one year (2019) at Rent One Park in Marion, Illinois. This year will mark the 42nd OVC Baseball Championship. The event was not held in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


2021 OVC Baseball Championship Schedule


Thursday, May 27

Game 1 - #1 Seed vs. #4 Seed, 2:00 p.m. (ESPN+)

Game 2 - #2 Seed vs. #3 Seed, 6:00 p.m. (ESPN+)


Friday, May 28

Game 3 – Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 11:00 a.m. (ESPN+)

Game 4 – Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 3:00 p.m. (ESPN+)

Game 5 – Winner Game 4 vs. Loser Game 3, 7:00 p.m. (ESPN+)


Saturday, May 29

Game 6 – Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 5, 12:00 p.m. (ESPN+)

Game 7 (if necessary) – Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6, 4:00 p.m. (ESPN+)